↓ Archives ↓

Archive → August 10th, 2017

Rahm Emanuel: The Renegade Mayor of a Renegade City

Rahm Emanuel: The Renegade Mayor of a Renegade City

Rahm Emanuel: The Renegade Mayor of a Renegade City

Fox News
August 9, 2017
Newt Gingrich

To receive Newt’s weekly newsletters, click here.

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel’s decision to sue the Department of Justice because it’s asking the Chicago Police Department to obey the law perfectly illustrates the dangerous disdain the modern Left has for normal Americans.

On July 25, U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions asked all cities, states, and territories applying for a very specific federal law enforcement grant to adhere to three new, very reasonable measures: To openly communicate with the Department of Homeland Security, to allow DHS officers to meet with locally-held prisoners who live in the country illegally and have been arrested for non-immigration related crimes, and to give the Department 48 hours notice before releasing such prisoners.

These are fairly simple, practical, common sense requirements – which the vast majority of cities and states gladly meet. Of course, federal, state, and local agencies should talk to and work with one another to enforce our laws. Federal agents shouldn’t be expected to consult a crystal ball to track down and deport people here illegally who are committing crimes – especially since local police know better than anyone about criminal aliens operating in their communities.

Yet, Mayor Emanuel is defending Chicago’s so-called sanctuary status, claiming that these requirements, “sow fear in local immigrant communities and ultimately make the people of Chicago less safe.”

Really? Chicago – where 4,331 people were shot and 762 were killed last year – will be less safe? Who exactly does the Mayor think will be made safer if local police let criminal noncitizens back on the streets instead of cooperating with federal authorities to deport them?

I agree with Hispanic 100 Spokesman Steve Cortez, who says cities like Chicago deserve a different title. Cortez made the case on Fox & Friends last week saying, “it’s not sanctuary for the victims of these crimes, it’s not sanctuary for the cops who have to deal with known criminals… I’d rather call them renegade cities.”

Cortez did not stop there though. After calling Chicago “the most dangerous city, in the Western world,” he pointed out that Emanuel is a renegade mayor, as well.

“Instead of worrying about protecting the children of Chicago, he’s worried about protecting known criminal illegal immigrants – that’s a renegade action,” Cortez said.

Chicago is not alone. The Washington Times reported in March there were nearly 500 states, cities, counties, or other jurisdictions across the country that refuse to cooperate with federal immigration officials.

That only accounts for about 2 percent of all cities, counties and states, but this is a big problem because these renegade jurisdictions potentially serve as safe havens for dangerous international crime gangs, such as MS-13, that endanger all our communities.

These gangs pose significant threat to American citizens. As I explain in my #1 New York Times best-selling book Understanding Trump, according to the Drug Enforcement Administration’s 2015 National Drug Threat Assessment the most dangerous and significant drivers of drug-related crime in the United States are multinational cartels from Mexico.

The DEA reported that the foundation of these cartels is the network of people who run the drug trade infrastructure inside U.S. borders. Specifically, the DEA said, “Actual members of Mexican TCOs are usually sent to important U.S. hub cities to manage stash houses containing drug shipments and bulk cash drug proceeds.”

Now, if you led an international drug cartel, would you set up shop in a city where your undocumented gang members would be deported upon arrest or one like Chicago, where local police looked the other way once you made bail?

Mayor Emanuel would like us to believe that he is concerned about the safety of his citizens, but his lawsuit is nothing more than a political charade. He is literally welcoming more criminals to the streets of Chicago.

In his response to the lawsuit, Attorney General Sessions struck exactly the right tone.

“They have demonstrated an open hostility to enforcing laws designed to protect law enforcement — Federal, state, and local — and reduce crime, and instead have adopted an official policy of protecting criminal aliens who prey on their own residents… No amount of federal taxpayer dollars will help a city that refuses to help its own residents,” Sessions said.

Hopefully, the other renegade states, cities, and counties in our nation will heed the Attorney General’s warning and leave their renegade ways behind them.

Source: Will County News

Please contact your County Board Member telling them to vote no on the pensions

The Elected County Wide Positions are: County Clerk, Clerk of the Circuit Court, Sheriff, Auditor, Treasurer, States Attorney, Coroner, County Executive, Regional Office of Education, and Recorder of Deeds. Presently they receive a salary of apx. $90, 000 plus, and benefits.

The Will County Board removed, County Board members from the pension program some months ago. County Board members who took the pension were told they can take their pension, or get their money back with interest.

Mike Fricilone and myself Steve Balich did not take the pension from the start. I agree with the statement made by Mike Fricilone at the 8/10/2017 Executive Committee.” Elected officials should not take the pension. Pensions are for a career employee not for public servants who can change with each election. There is no enforcement how many hours they work as they answer only to the public. The IMRF pension plan only requires 600 hours per year which is 11 ½ hours a week with reporting done by the elected office holder. Pension double dipping, is another problem. The County Board will vote on August 17th to keep or remove the pension from these offices.

Please Contact Your County Board Member And Tell Them You Want The Pension Program Program for Elected County Officials Removed

Contact for Will County Board staff      Phone: 815-740-4602   Email: CountyBoard@willcountyillinois.com

 

Steve Balich, District 7 (R-Homer Glen)  Phone: 815-557-7196 sbalich@willcountyillinois.com

Darren Bennefield, District 5 (R-Aurora) Phone: 312-479-8478 dbennefield@willcountyillinois.com

Herbert Brooks, Jr., District 8 (D-Joliet), Minority Leader Phone: 815-726-7080 hbrooks@willcountyillinois.com

Gloria Dollinger, District 10 (R-Joliet) Phone: 815-210-6684 gdollinger@willcountyillinois.com

Mark Ferry, District 13 (D-Plainfield) Phone: 815-436-6119 mferry@willcountyillinois.com

Mike Fricilone, District 7 (R-Homer Glen) Phone: 708-310-9831mfricilone@willcountyillinois.com

Gretchen Fritz, District 5 (R-Plainfield) gfritz@willcountyillinois.com

Don Gould, District 6 (R-Shorewood) Phone: 815-744-2669    Phone: 815-725-7665 dgould@willcountyillinois.com

Kenneth Harris, District 4 (D-Bolingbrook) Phone: 630-605-8751 kharris@willcountyillinois.com

Suzanne Hart, District 11 (R-Naperville) Phone: 630-745-7783 shart@willcountyillinois.com

Tim Kraulidis, District 13 (R-Joliet) Phone: 815-999-1917 tkraudlidis@willcountyillinois.com

Tyler Marcum, District 10 (D-Joliet) Phone: 815-600-3985 tmarcum@willcountyillinois.com

Charles “Chuck” Maher, District 11 (R-Naperville), Majority Leader Phone: 630-357-0585 Phone: 630-642-2616 cmaher@willcountyIllinois.com

Debbie Militello, District 6 (R-Channahon) Phone: (815) 715-1703 dmilitello@willcountyillinois.com

Donald Moran, District 3 (D-Romeoville) Phone: 815-370-2966 dmoran@willcountyillinois.com

Judy Ogalla, District 1 (R-Monee) Phone: 708-710-3701 jogala@willcountyillinois.com

James (Jim) Moustis, District 2 (R-Frankfort), County Board Speaker Phone: 815-469-4907 Jmoustis@willcountyillinois.com

Annette Parker, District 9 (R-Crest Hill) Phone: 815-955-9778 aparker@willcountyillinois.com

Beth Rice, District 3 (D-Bolingbrook) Phone: 630-699-1639 brice@willcountyillinois.com

Cory Singer, District 2 (R-Frankfort) Phone: 815-685-2100 csinger@willcountyillinois.com

Lauren Staley-Ferry, District 9 (D-Joliet) Phone: 224-217-8722 lstaley-ferry@willcountyillinois.com

Laurie Summers, District 1 (D-Crete) Phone: 779-279-6883 lsummers@willcountyillinois.com

Jacqueline Traynere, District 4 (D-Bolingbrook) Phone: 630-240-9178   jtraynere@willcountyillinois.com

Ray Tuminello, District 12 (R-New Lenox) Phone: 815-405-8452 rtuminello@willcountyillinois.com

Tom Weigel, District 12 (R-New Lenox) Phone: 815-722-0881 tweigel@willcountyillinopis.com

Denise Winfrey, District 8 (D-Joliet) Phone: 815-722-4220   Cell: 815-258-2403  dwinfrey@willcountyillinois.com

Discussion on pensions begins at 42:30 minutes

 

I am asking you to please contact your County Board Member ASAP. Your voice does make a difference .

Written By Steve Balich 815-557-7196

 

 

Source: Will County News

View eclipse in Will County Forest Preserves

View eclipse in Will County Forest Preserves

The Forest Preserve District of Will County is hosting a “Drop-in Solar Eclipse” program from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 21 at the Four Rivers Environmental Education Center in Channahon.

“The program will provide an opportunity for people to view the eclipse safely with NASA-approved glasses,” said Kelli Parke, an interpretive naturalist for the Forest Preserve District, adding that they will have glasses for the first 75 people.

The eclipse, the first total solar eclipse in the continental United States in 38 years, can be viewed anywhere in the country where the sun is visible, but to view it safely, people should be wearing NASA-approved eclipse glasses, she said in a news release.

Staff will be on hand to help answer questions, oversee solar eclipse activities and pass out fliers to explain what is happening in the sky.

Participants should check in at the visitor center, and are encouraged to bring lawn chairs and a picnic lunch while they watch the sun disappear behind the moon.

The moon will start to cover the sun at 11:57 a.m. and the eclipse event will last until 2:40 p.m.

“We will be able to view a partial solar eclipse for a little less than two minutes where the sun will be about 88 percent covered at 1:21 p.m. This will be a maximum sun coverage for the eclipse for our area,” Parke said.

Registration is not required for this free, all-ages event. Four Rivers is at 25055 W. Walnut Lane in McKinley Woods. The visitors center will be open for restrooms and educational information.

More information about the eclipse is on NASA’s website: www.eclipse2017.nasa.gov.

slafferty@tribpub.com

Source: Will County News